|
Post by oldvbguy on Oct 19, 2010 13:03:46 GMT -5
Just wondering - what is the current rules interpretation NCAA uses for centerline violations. Saw a match last week where outside hitter took three steps along the center line after a hit - clearly across - not on- the line. She did not interfere with a player on the other side but that used to be a violation anyway. Is the rule different now?
|
|
|
Post by ugopher on Oct 19, 2010 13:14:03 GMT -5
It has been that way for a while now. As long as they do not interfere with a player on the side of the net there isn't a violation.
|
|
|
Post by jgrout on Oct 19, 2010 13:22:12 GMT -5
Isn't only part of a player's foot allowed across the center line under the net between the antennae? I thought that putting one's whole foot across the center line was still a fault.
|
|
|
Post by ugopher on Oct 19, 2010 13:38:28 GMT -5
No, as long as there is not hinderance or safety issues the entire foot can be across the line.
I noticed this a few years back when a setter continually would cross the line when chasing down a pass. She didn't hit the net nor did she interfere with an opposing player. I asked the coach about this and was told no violation if there wasn't a safety issue.
In the US we have different net/centerline rules for high school, college and juniors. Can be hard to keep everything straight.
|
|
|
Post by BearClause on Oct 19, 2010 13:39:50 GMT -5
Here's the rule: 15.1.3.2 It is not a fault to penetrate into the opponents’ space under the net, provided that this does not interfere with the opponents’ play. If the ball inadvertently contacts an opponent while part of the ball is in the plane below the net, the ball is out of play and it is not considered to be a fault by the opponents.
15.2.4 Crossing the Center Line
15.2.4.1 Encroachment into the opponent’s court with the foot, feet or hand(s) is permitted, provided some part of the encroaching extremity remains in contact with or directly above the center line, and there is no interference with opponents. It is not a fault to contact the opponent’s team court with the hair.
15.2.4.2 Encroachment into the opponent’s court with any part(s) of the body is permitted, provided some part of the body remains either in contact with or directly above the center line, and there is no interference with opponents. In addition, completely crossing the center line with the foot, feet or hands, or encroachment with other body parts must not present a safety hazard to opponents. It seems a bit contradictory.
|
|